PSRwatchPSRwatch
Back to the board
Model updated: 01 Sept 2026
Newcastle United logo

Newcastle United

2026/27 spending-room estimate

CompareOpen calculator
Levy zoneFinancial forecast
Quick answer

PSRwatch estimates Newcastle United's 2026/27 squad-cost ratio at 99% of football income - above the 85% Green Threshold but comfortably below the 115% Red Threshold - the levy / allowance zone. That leaves roughly £68m of annual squad-cost room before the 115% Red Threshold. Model updated: 01 Sept 2026 · Accounts data refreshed: 18 Jul 2026. These are independent PSRwatch estimates, not official Premier League calculations.

Use this page to answer: “How much can Newcastle United spend?” · “How close are Newcastle United to a points deduction?” · “What is Newcastle United's squad-cost ratio?”

Room to the Red Threshold

Room to Red Threshold
£68m

Annual squad-cost room before the 115% Red Threshold - the primary line where sporting-sanction (points) risk starts.

Squad-cost ratio
99% of 115%

The 115% Red Threshold is the primary sporting-sanction line. The 85% Green Threshold is the secondary levy / allowance line.

Room to Green Threshold
(£56m)

Room before the 85% Green Threshold, above which a levy / allowance charge (not a points deduction) applies to overspend.

Levy / allowance exposure
£56m

Levy on overspend above the 85% Green Threshold - a fine, not a points deduction.

What this means for Newcastle United

They are above the 85% Green Threshold but inside the 115% Red Threshold, so the exposure is a levy / allowance charge on around £56m of overspend - a fine, not a points deduction.

Confirmed transfers this summer have reduced remaining room by about £81m (+19.7 percentage points).

The old-PSR model is not expected to be the biggest issue in the 2023/24-2025/26 closeout window.

How Newcastle United compare

Compare with another club →
Room to the Red Threshold
£68m
11th of 20 Premier League clubs
League median £72m
Squad-cost ratio
99%
15th of 20 Premier League clubs
League median 92%
Football income
£410m
8th of 20 Premier League clubs
League median £265m

Ranked on PSRwatch's own 2026/27 estimates, not official league figures.

Why this club is in this position

2026/27 · Premier League Squad Cost Ratio - a PSRwatch model, not an official league finding.

The numbers behind it
Football income£410m
Squad cost£404m
- of which wages£273m
- of which amortisation£115m
Player trading contribution£174m
Room to Green Threshold (85%)−£56m
Room to Red Threshold (115%)+£68m
What creates the pressure
  • High wage bill - £273m a year is 68% of squad cost
  • Over the 85% Green Threshold - levy exposure (a fine, not a points deduction)
What improves the position
  • A sale would improve headroom - sale profit counts in the model straight away
  • Higher football income adds room - every £1m of income covers more squad cost
  • Lower wages (departures or expiring deals) reduce squad cost fastest
And under Old PSR (2023/242025/26, the older loss-based rule)
  • Profitable three-year window - losses are not the issue
  • Verified owner equity lifts the loss allowance above the £15m baseline
Full figures (baseline, source-backed and max-funded scenario) are in the Old PSR result section below.

Where to go next

See Newcastle United's financial forecast - the income statement, projected forward from filed accounts, with every figure traceable to its source.

Season view

ProjectionSquad-cost basis
Football income
£410m
Squad cost
£404m
Squad-cost ratio
99%
Room to Red Threshold
£68m
Levy zoneCurrent PSRwatch view using public data.
2026/27 - Premier League squad-cost projection. This is the live view used across the rest of this page.
What does this mean?Forward-looking squad-cost estimate for 2026/27, built from public filings, reported transfer data, provider wage estimates and PSRwatch assumptions. Subject to transfer, wage, revenue and rule changes. These are unofficial PSRwatch estimates - final regulatory decisions sit with the leagues. Methodology

Transfer effect

This table translates confirmed transfer activity into spending-room impact. A transfer fee is normally spread across the player's contract as an annual transfer-fee cost. Wages, signing fees, agent fees, loans and sales then change the live squad-cost position.

Player / itemMoveFrom / ToFeeContractAnnual transfer-fee costBook profit/lossRatio movement
Aidan HarrisInNewcastle United U21Undisclosed4 yrs~£5m~£0m+3.0pp
Aladji BambaInAS Monaco£30m4 yrs£8m£0m+4.0pp
Alex MurphyLoan out1.FC Kaiserslautern£0m1 yrs£0m£0m-1.7pp
Amar DedicInSL Benfica£30m4 yrs£8m£0m+4.1pp
Anthony GordonOutFC Barcelona£67mSale/no fee spread£0m£44m-3.3pp
Bazoumana TouréInTSG 1899 Hoffenheim£42m4 yrs£11m£0m+5.3pp
Bruno GuimarãesOutArsenal FC£74mSale/no fee spread£0m£48m-3.3pp
Ewen JaouenInStade Reims£18m4 yrs£5m£0m+2.9pp
Harrison AshbyLoan outLuton Town£0m1 yrs£0m£0m-1.7pp
Joe WhiteOutCrewe AlexandraUndisclosedSale/no fee spread~£0m~£15m-2.1pp
Leo ShaharInNewcastle United U21Undisclosed4 yrs~£8m~£0m+4.0pp
Lukas HornicekInSC Braga£26m4 yrs£7m£0m+3.6pp
Nico GonzálezInManchester City£47m4 yrs£12m£0m+5.6pp
Sandro TonaliOutTottenham Hotspur£91mSale/no fee spread£0m£59m-3.8pp
Sean SteurInAjax Amsterdam£20m4 yrs£5m£0m+3.1pp

~ Undisclosed fees use a PSRwatch modelling estimate to derive squad-cost figures. Undisclosed or estimated sale fees are not counted as real football income until reported or filed.

Football income

The squad-cost ratio depends on football income, so PSRwatch starts from the latest filed accounts and then estimates the 2026/27 income base.

Latest actual revenue
£335m

2024/25

Football income
£410m

£386m low / £435m high

Player trading
£174m

Reported sale fees only. £23m of undisclosed-fee estimates are excluded from income until reported or filed.

Latest actual revenue
£335m
Matchday forecast
£37m
Broadcasting forecast
£96m
Commercial forecast
£71m
UEFA forecast
£33m
Player trading contribution
£174m
Football income
£410m

Latest filed revenue baseline: 2024/25.

Central forecast starts from the committed club forecast and splits football income using a league-typical modelled mix (about 18% matchday / 47% broadcasting in the Premier League) - the club's own filed mix will be used once its accounts disclose one.

Premier League participation is included in the broadcasting and commercial mix.

UEFA participation adds a separate revenue line and UEFA SCR exposure.

Low/high range is a deterministic +/-6% sensitivity around central football income.

Forecast income already clears the applicable Premier League floors (income >= GBP 175m, broadcasting >= GBP 95m), so no uplift was needed.

Squad-cost breakdown

Squad cost combines the club's accounts wage bill (all staff - a conservative stand-in for the League's player-and-coach definition), annual transfer-fee costs and estimated agent, signing, loan and bonus costs, compared with football income to give the squad-cost ratio estimate.

Squad wage bill (accounts, all staff)
£273m

From the club's filed accounts: total staff costs including non-playing staff, bonuses and employer NI. The League's squad-cost test counts player and head-coach pay, so this numerator errs conservative.

Annual transfer-fee cost
£115m
Agent, signing, loan and bonus costs
£16m
Other squad-related costs
£0m
Squad cost
£404m
Football income
£410m
Squad Cost Ratio
98.5%
85% capacity (levy starts)
£349m
115% capacity (points deduction starts)
£472m
Room before the levy threshold
(£56m)
Room before a points deduction
£68m
Overspend subject to financial levy
£56m

Spending beyond 85% of football income attracts a financial levy on the overspend.

Other rule frameworks

Newcastle United are also measured against the older Profitability & Sustainability rules and, where they qualify, UEFA's squad-cost rule. Neither is the live Premier League rule for 2026/27 squad-building.

Old PSR result

£305m roomSource-backed funded allowance2023/242025/26

PSRwatch uses £0m of verified eligible owner funding in this window (owner loans excluded), lifting the loss allowance above the £15m baseline. Old PSR is the older three-year loss framework; it is no longer the live rule for 2026/27 squad-building. This is a public-data model, not an official league finding.

View detailed calculation
3-year adjusted result
£230m

2023/24, 2024/25, 2025/26

Baseline allowance
£15m

GBP 5m per known PL/EFL season.

Verified eligible funding available
£60m

Total verified equity in the window - can exceed the amount the cap lets the model apply.

Eligible funding applied
£0m

Capped at £90m above the baseline.

Baseline result
£245m

Room on the baseline allowance only.

Source-backed funded result
£305m

Baseline + verified owner equity. Unavailable without verified funding.

Max-funded scenario
£335m

If fully owner-funded to £105m - a labelled scenario, never the headline without verified funding.

Leagues
PL / PL / PL

League mix drives PL/EFL loss cap.

3-year adjusted result
£230m
Adjusted old PSR loss
£0m
Base loss allowance
£15m
Verified PSR-eligible equity
£60m
Equity cap
£90m
Equity applied to current loss
£0m
Headline allowable loss
£75m
Baseline room
£245m
Source-backed funded room
£305m
Max-funded scenario room
£335m
Old PSR headroom (headline)
£305m
Old PSR headroom as pct of allowance
406.7%

Owner funding note: Owner funding can affect financial resilience and, under the old PSR framework, support permitted losses. It does not automatically create new squad-cost room under the revenue-linked SCR model. Old PSR allows higher losses only where secure funding/equity is evidenced; owner and shareholder loans are excluded unless validly converted to eligible equity. Before undisclosed/private adjustments.

UEFA rules

UEFA rules are shown separately because clubs in European competition may face a stricter squad-cost threshold than the Premier League.

UEFA status
Risk

70% threshold

UEFA ratio
98.5%

Room (£117m)

UEFA squad cost
£404m
UEFA football income
£410m
UEFA squad-cost ratio
98.5%
70% UEFA capacity
£287m
Room before UEFA limit
(£117m)

Player ledger

Player-level squad-cost model from contract, wage and player-registration cost data.

Per-player wages are gross fixed salaries from public sources, or a labelled estimate where no salary is published. This table is a DECOMPOSITION: the squad-cost estimate above stays anchored to the club's own filed accounts, and the difference is shown below rather than hidden.

Reconciliation to the accounts: players listed here account for £150m of the £274m wage bill, leaving £123m unallocated (bonuses, employer NI, coaching and non-playing staff), and £117m of the £115m player-registration amortisation - £2m MORE than the club's filed charge, because contracts signed since that year end amortise above it. The club totals come from the accounts; this table never replaces them.
PlayerPositionContract endCapitalised costWage estimateAnnual transfer-fee costAnnual squad cost
Lukas HornicekGoalkeeper2031-06-30£26m£4m-£8mest£5m£12m
Ewen JaouenGoalkeeper2030-06-30£19m£4m-£8mest£5m£11m
Nick PopeGoalkeeper2027-06-30£0m£3m£0mapportioned£3m
Aidan HarrisGoalkeeperNot available£19m£3m-£7mest£0mapportioned£5m
Mark GillespieGoalkeeper2027-06-30£0m£1m£0mapportioned£1m
Malick ThiawCentre-Back2029-06-30£30m£4m£10m£14m
Sven BotmanCentre-Back2030-06-30£0m£7m£0mapportioned£7m
Fabian SchärCentre-Back2027-06-30£0m£4m£0mapportioned£4m
Dan BurnCentre-Back2027-06-30£0m£4m£0mapportioned£4m
Lewis HallLeft-Back2029-06-30£29m£2m£9m£12m
Tino LivramentoRight-Back2028-06-30£0m£3m£0mapportioned£3m
Amar DedicRight-Back2031-06-30£31m£5m-£8mest£6m£13m
Leo ShaharRight-BackNot available£29m£5m-£8mest£0mapportioned£7m
Nico GonzálezDefensive MidfieldNot available£48m£5m-£8mest£9m£17m
Aladji BambaDefensive Midfield2031-06-30£30m£5m-£8mest£6m£13m
Jacob RamseyCentral Midfield2030-06-30£39m£6m£9m£16m
JoelintonCentral Midfield2028-06-30£0m£8m£0mapportioned£8m
Lewis MileyCentral Midfield2032-06-30£0m£2m£0mapportioned£2m
Joe WillockCentral Midfield2027-06-30£0m£4m£0mapportioned£4m
Sean SteurCentral Midfield2031-06-30£20m£4m-£8mest£4m£10m
Bazoumana TouréLeft Winger2031-06-30£43m£5m-£8mest£8m£16m
Harvey BarnesLeft Winger2028-06-30£0m£4m£0mapportioned£4m
Anthony ElangaRight Winger2030-06-30£53m£5m£13m£18m
Jacob MurphyRight Winger2027-06-30£0m£2m£0mapportioned£2m
Nick WoltemadeCentre-Forward2031-06-30£64m£7m£13m£19m
William OsulaCentre-Forward2029-06-30£10m£1m£3m£5m
Yoane WissaCentre-Forward2029-06-30£50m£7m£16m£23m
Antoñito CorderoSEN2027-06-30£0m£5m-£8mest£0m£7m
Harrison AshbySEN2027-06-30£0m£5m-£8mest£0m£7m

Methodology and sources

Premier League SCR is estimated as squad costs divided by football income. Spending between 85% and 115% of football income attracts a financial levy on the overspend; crossing 115% brings a fixed 6-point deduction plus 1 further point per GBP 6.5m spent beyond the 115% capacity.

Squad costs use the club's accounts wage bill (all staff - conservative vs the League's player-and-coach definition), annual transfer-fee cost, and estimated agent, signing, loan and bonus costs.

Transfer fees are spread across contract life. Sales compare proceeds with remaining book value to estimate book profit or loss.

Revenue forecasts start from the latest filed accounts and committed club forecast, then split 2026/27 football income into matchday, broadcasting, commercial, UEFA and player-trading lines.

Old PSR is retained only as a 2023/24-2025/26 closeout layer. Owner funding can support the old loss allowance when available and capped, but it does not create new SCR revenue capacity.

Each public snapshot is generated from PSRwatch-owned JSON files after validation, with the last good snapshot kept if an upstream refresh fails.

Newcastle United latest accounts extract (2024/25) - Accounts values are parsed from Companies House filings where available, then normalised into the committed full dataset.

PSRwatch 2026/27 squad-cost forecast - Forecast uses committed income, wage, annual transfer-fee cost and transfer assumptions with deterministic rule calculations.

Spotted something wrong for Newcastle United? Report an issue.

Glossary

Squad Cost Ratio
Squad costs divided by football income.
Football income
Forecast matchday, broadcasting, commercial, UEFA and relevant player-trading income used as the SCR denominator.
Room before limit
Annual squad-cost capacity before the 85% levy threshold is reached.
Levy threshold (85%)
Spending beyond 85% of football income attracts a financial levy (fine) on the overspend, up to the 115% buffer.
Red zone / points threshold (115%)
Crossing 115% of football income brings a fixed 6-point deduction, plus 1 further point per GBP 6.5m spent beyond the 115% capacity.
UEFA rules
Separate squad-cost pressure for clubs in European competition, shown against a 70% threshold.
Old PSR
The old three-year loss-based regime, retained as a closeout layer for 2023/24-2025/26.
Owner equity / secure funding
Funding that can support old PSR loss allowance when available and capped, but does not automatically add SCR capacity.
Annual transfer-fee cost
Capitalised transfer cost spread across the player's contract.
Book value
Unamortised capitalised player cost remaining on the balance sheet.
Book profit/loss
Sale proceeds less remaining book value and sale costs.
Academy sale
Sale of a club-developed player, often carrying low book value and high book profit.
Free transfer
A transfer with no fee, though wages, signing fee and agent fee can still affect squad cost.
Loan fee
Temporary fee or wage contribution linked to a loan move.
Transfer effect
Change in annual squad-cost room caused by transfer activity.
Spendable capacity
Annual squad-cost room converted into a football-language estimate, not a recommendation or exact budget.

What changed

Newcastle United's financial model was last published on 1 September 2026. 57 published revisions on record.

No figures changed in the latest rebuild - the published position is unchanged.

Financial forecast

Financial model built from filed accounts, sourced facts and labelled assumptions, with a forward income-statement forecast. Expand any line to see where the number comes from.

Model completeness 75%Forecast confidence lowReadiness Tier BReconciliation fullModel platform-v1.1
Revenue 2028/29F
£316.3m
Staff costs
£243.5m
Player amortisation
£99.9m
Pre-tax result
-£106.5m
Squad-cost ratio
-
2020/21AFiled accounts2021/22AFiled accounts2022/23AFiled accounts2023/24AFiled accounts2024/25AFiled accounts2025/26EPSRwatch estimate2026/27FPSRwatch forecast2027/28FPSRwatch forecast2028/29FPSRwatch forecast
What moves revenue from 2024/25A to 2028/29F
  • Matchday-£10.0m
  • Media & competition distributions-£6.6m
  • Commercial+£0.0m

Calculated from the model itself - the same numbers as the statement lines below, not separately maintained copy.

Income statement
Line (£m)2020/21A2021/22A2022/23A2023/24A2024/25A2025/26E2026/27F2027/28F2028/29F
Total revenue
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationTotal revenue£316.3m
= matchday + media + commercial
CalculationMatchday revenue 2028/29£41.6m
= (52729 seats × 98.8% utilisation) × (19 league + 6 domestic cup + 0 European home games) × £31.93 per attendee ÷ 1,000,000
FactStadium capacity 2028/29: 52729 seats (official, high)52,729 seats
AssumptionAttendance utilisation 98.8%98.8%
Assumption19 home league matches19 matches
Assumption6 home domestic cup ties6 matches
Assumption0 home European ties0 matches
AssumptionMatchday yield £31.93/attendee31.93 GBP
CalculationMedia / broadcasting revenue£154.5m
= domestic league central distribution + UEFA distributions + domestic cup prize money
CalculationPremier League central distribution£154.5m
= pl_total 2028/29 resolved directly: 154.5
AssumptionPL central distributions £154.5m£154.5m
CalculationUEFA distribution 2028/29: zero - club not in European competition£0.0m
= no European participation ⇒ no UEFA distribution
EventNo European competition 2028/29 (assumed)£0.0m
CalculationNot modelled for 2028/29: no evidenced domestic cup prize money
CalculationCommercial revenue fy2029: 0 contracted deals + other commercial base (4 active deal(s) with unreported value excluded)£120.2m
= Σ guaranteed annual values of 0 active deals (£0.0m) + other commercial base £120.2m
Contractadidas (kit-manufacturer) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractKnox Hydrate (shirt-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
Contractnoon.com (sleeve-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractKnox Hydrate (training-ground) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
AssumptionCommercial base beyond registered deals £120.18m£120.2m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · Premier League · Wikipedia · SportsPro · Roundtable · Footy Headlines
£140.2m£180.0m£250.3m£320.3m£335.3m£326.3m£316.3m£316.3m£316.3m
Matchday revenue
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationMatchday revenue 2028/29£41.6m
= (52729 seats × 98.8% utilisation) × (19 league + 6 domestic cup + 0 European home games) × £31.93 per attendee ÷ 1,000,000
FactStadium capacity 2028/29: 52729 seats (official, high)52,729 seats
AssumptionAttendance utilisation 98.8%98.8%
Assumption19 home league matches19 matches
Assumption6 home domestic cup ties6 matches
Assumption0 home European ties0 matches
AssumptionMatchday yield £31.93/attendee31.93 GBP
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · Premier League · Wikipedia
£0.2m£27.5m£37.9m£50.1m£51.6m£51.6m£41.6m£41.6m£41.6m
Media / broadcasting revenue
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationMedia / broadcasting revenue£154.5m
= domestic league central distribution + UEFA distributions + domestic cup prize money
CalculationPremier League central distribution£154.5m
= pl_total 2028/29 resolved directly: 154.5
AssumptionPL central distributions £154.5m£154.5m
CalculationUEFA distribution 2028/29: zero - club not in European competition£0.0m
= no European participation ⇒ no UEFA distribution
EventNo European competition 2028/29 (assumed)£0.0m
CalculationNot modelled for 2028/29: no evidenced domestic cup prize money
Sources: Wikipedia
£119.3m£124.1m£165.5m£153.9m£161.1m£154.5m£154.5m£154.5m£154.5m
Premier League distributions
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationPremier League central distribution£154.5m
= pl_total 2028/29 resolved directly: 154.5
AssumptionPL central distributions £154.5m£154.5m
- - - - - £154.5m£154.5m£154.5m£154.5m
UEFA distributions
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationUEFA distribution 2028/29: zero - club not in European competition£0.0m
= no European participation ⇒ no UEFA distribution
EventNo European competition 2028/29 (assumed)£0.0m
Sources: Wikipedia
- - - £29.8m£0.0m£0.0m£0.0m£0.0m£0.0m
Commercial revenue
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationCommercial revenue fy2029: 0 contracted deals + other commercial base (4 active deal(s) with unreported value excluded)£120.2m
= Σ guaranteed annual values of 0 active deals (£0.0m) + other commercial base £120.2m
Contractadidas (kit-manufacturer) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractKnox Hydrate (shirt-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
Contractnoon.com (sleeve-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractKnox Hydrate (training-ground) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
AssumptionCommercial base beyond registered deals £120.18m£120.2m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · SportsPro · Roundtable · Footy Headlines
£17.6m£26.6m£43.9m£83.6m£120.2m£120.2m£120.2m£120.2m£120.2m
Total staff costs
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationTotal staff costs£243.5m
AssumptionStaff costs £243.48m£243.5m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts)
£106.8m£170.2m£186.7m£218.7m£243.5m£243.5m£243.5m£243.5m£243.5m
Other operating costs
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
AssumptionOther operating costs £101.4m£101.4m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts)
- £36.1m£43.5m£72.7m£101.4m£101.4m£101.4m£101.4m£101.4m
EBITDA
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationEBITDA-£28.6m
= revenue − staff costs − other operating costs
CalculationTotal revenue£316.3m
= matchday + media + commercial
CalculationMatchday revenue 2028/29£41.6m
= (52729 seats × 98.8% utilisation) × (19 league + 6 domestic cup + 0 European home games) × £31.93 per attendee ÷ 1,000,000
FactStadium capacity 2028/29: 52729 seats (official, high)52,729 seats
AssumptionAttendance utilisation 98.8%98.8%
Assumption19 home league matches19 matches
Assumption6 home domestic cup ties6 matches
Assumption0 home European ties0 matches
AssumptionMatchday yield £31.93/attendee31.93 GBP
CalculationMedia / broadcasting revenue£154.5m
= domestic league central distribution + UEFA distributions + domestic cup prize money
CalculationPremier League central distribution£154.5m
= pl_total 2028/29 resolved directly: 154.5
AssumptionPL central distributions £154.5m£154.5m
CalculationUEFA distribution 2028/29: zero - club not in European competition£0.0m
= no European participation ⇒ no UEFA distribution
EventNo European competition 2028/29 (assumed)£0.0m
CalculationNot modelled for 2028/29: no evidenced domestic cup prize money
CalculationCommercial revenue fy2029: 0 contracted deals + other commercial base (4 active deal(s) with unreported value excluded)£120.2m
= Σ guaranteed annual values of 0 active deals (£0.0m) + other commercial base £120.2m
Contractadidas (kit-manufacturer) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractKnox Hydrate (shirt-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
Contractnoon.com (sleeve-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractKnox Hydrate (training-ground) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
AssumptionCommercial base beyond registered deals £120.18m£120.2m
CalculationTotal staff costs£243.5m
AssumptionStaff costs £243.48m£243.5m
AssumptionOther operating costs £101.4m£101.4m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · Premier League · Wikipedia · SportsPro · Roundtable · Footy Headlines
- -£26.4m£20.0m£28.8m-£9.6m-£18.6m-£28.6m-£28.6m-£28.6m
Player registration amortisation
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationPlayer registration amortisation£99.9m
= held at the club's own last filed amortisation charge: the player subledger holds no registrations for this period and there is no filed NBV anchor to run residual cohorts off
AssumptionPlayer amortisation £99.87m£99.9m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts)
- £51.1m£89.3m£97.5m£99.9m£99.9m£99.9m£99.9m£99.9m
Player registration impairment
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationPlayer registration impairment£0.0m
= no impairment assumed: impairments follow specific squad events (a player written down after injury or exclusion) and are not forecastable from public data. Any impairment would reduce the result below this base case
- - - - - £0.0m£0.0m£0.0m£0.0m
Operating profit/(loss)
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationOperating profit/(loss) excluding player trading-£128.5m
= EBITDA − player amortisation; this filer does not disclose depreciation separately, so it already sits inside other operating costs and is not deducted twice
CalculationEBITDA-£28.6m
= revenue − staff costs − other operating costs
CalculationTotal revenue£316.3m
= matchday + media + commercial
CalculationMatchday revenue 2028/29£41.6m
= (52729 seats × 98.8% utilisation) × (19 league + 6 domestic cup + 0 European home games) × £31.93 per attendee ÷ 1,000,000
FactStadium capacity 2028/29: 52729 seats (official, high)52,729 seats
AssumptionAttendance utilisation 98.8%98.8%
Assumption19 home league matches19 matches
Assumption6 home domestic cup ties6 matches
Assumption0 home European ties0 matches
AssumptionMatchday yield £31.93/attendee31.93 GBP
CalculationMedia / broadcasting revenue£154.5m
= domestic league central distribution + UEFA distributions + domestic cup prize money
CalculationPremier League central distribution£154.5m
= pl_total 2028/29 resolved directly: 154.5
AssumptionPL central distributions £154.5m£154.5m
CalculationUEFA distribution 2028/29: zero - club not in European competition£0.0m
= no European participation ⇒ no UEFA distribution
EventNo European competition 2028/29 (assumed)£0.0m
CalculationNot modelled for 2028/29: no evidenced domestic cup prize money
CalculationCommercial revenue fy2029: 0 contracted deals + other commercial base (4 active deal(s) with unreported value excluded)£120.2m
= Σ guaranteed annual values of 0 active deals (£0.0m) + other commercial base £120.2m
Contractadidas (kit-manufacturer) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractKnox Hydrate (shirt-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
Contractnoon.com (sleeve-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractKnox Hydrate (training-ground) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
AssumptionCommercial base beyond registered deals £120.18m£120.2m
CalculationTotal staff costs£243.5m
AssumptionStaff costs £243.48m£243.5m
AssumptionOther operating costs £101.4m£101.4m
CalculationPlayer registration amortisation£99.9m
= held at the club's own last filed amortisation charge: the player subledger holds no registrations for this period and there is no filed NBV anchor to run residual cohorts off
AssumptionPlayer amortisation £99.87m£99.9m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · Premier League · Wikipedia · SportsPro · Roundtable · Footy Headlines
-£15.4m-£77.5m-£69.3m-£68.7m-£109.4m-£118.5m-£128.5m-£128.5m-£128.5m
Profit on disposal of player registrations
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationProfit on disposal of registrations£30.9m
= known transactions (subledger) + baseline assumption for windows that have not yet happened
CalculationKnown disposals (subledger: fee − NBV per player)£0.0m
= guaranteed fee − net book value at disposal, per player
AssumptionBaseline disposal profit £30.85m£30.9m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts)
£1.7m£5.8m£2.8m£69.8m£19.9m£30.9m£30.9m£30.9m£30.9m
Finance income
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
AssumptionFinance income £2.79m£2.8m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts)
£0.4m£0.2m£0.6m£2.1m£2.8m£2.8m£2.8m£2.8m£2.8m
Finance costs
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationFinance costs£11.7m
= interest on debt instruments + other finance charges + interest on opening revolver draws (in-year draws accrue from the following period)
CalculationFinancing fy2029: interest £0.0m, closing debt £0.0m£0.0m
= per instrument: interest = avg(opening, closing) × rate; closing debt = Σ balances after drawdowns, repayments and schedule
AssumptionNet finance costs £11.65m£11.7m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts)
£0.3m£1.4m£7.5m£14.4m£11.7m£11.7m£11.7m£11.7m£11.7m
Profit/(loss) before tax
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationProfit/(loss) before tax-£106.5m
= operating profit + player disposal profit + finance income − finance costs
CalculationOperating profit/(loss) excluding player trading-£128.5m
= EBITDA − player amortisation; this filer does not disclose depreciation separately, so it already sits inside other operating costs and is not deducted twice
CalculationEBITDA-£28.6m
= revenue − staff costs − other operating costs
CalculationTotal revenue£316.3m
= matchday + media + commercial
CalculationMatchday revenue 2028/29£41.6m
= (52729 seats × 98.8% utilisation) × (19 league + 6 domestic cup + 0 European home games) × £31.93 per attendee ÷ 1,000,000
FactStadium capacity 2028/29: 52729 seats (official, high)52,729 seats
AssumptionAttendance utilisation 98.8%98.8%
Assumption19 home league matches19 matches
Assumption6 home domestic cup ties6 matches
Assumption0 home European ties0 matches
AssumptionMatchday yield £31.93/attendee31.93 GBP
CalculationMedia / broadcasting revenue£154.5m
= domestic league central distribution + UEFA distributions + domestic cup prize money
CalculationPremier League central distribution£154.5m
= pl_total 2028/29 resolved directly: 154.5
AssumptionPL central distributions £154.5m£154.5m
CalculationUEFA distribution 2028/29: zero - club not in European competition£0.0m
= no European participation ⇒ no UEFA distribution
EventNo European competition 2028/29 (assumed)£0.0m
CalculationNot modelled for 2028/29: no evidenced domestic cup prize money
CalculationCommercial revenue fy2029: 0 contracted deals + other commercial base (4 active deal(s) with unreported value excluded)£120.2m
= Σ guaranteed annual values of 0 active deals (£0.0m) + other commercial base £120.2m
Contractadidas (kit-manufacturer) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractKnox Hydrate (shirt-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
Contractnoon.com (sleeve-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractKnox Hydrate (training-ground) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
AssumptionCommercial base beyond registered deals £120.18m£120.2m
CalculationTotal staff costs£243.5m
AssumptionStaff costs £243.48m£243.5m
AssumptionOther operating costs £101.4m£101.4m
CalculationPlayer registration amortisation£99.9m
= held at the club's own last filed amortisation charge: the player subledger holds no registrations for this period and there is no filed NBV anchor to run residual cohorts off
AssumptionPlayer amortisation £99.87m£99.9m
CalculationProfit on disposal of registrations£30.9m
= known transactions (subledger) + baseline assumption for windows that have not yet happened
CalculationKnown disposals (subledger: fee − NBV per player)£0.0m
= guaranteed fee − net book value at disposal, per player
AssumptionBaseline disposal profit £30.85m£30.9m
AssumptionFinance income £2.79m£2.8m
CalculationFinance costs£11.7m
= interest on debt instruments + other finance charges + interest on opening revolver draws (in-year draws accrue from the following period)
CalculationFinancing fy2029: interest £0.0m, closing debt £0.0m£0.0m
= per instrument: interest = avg(opening, closing) × rate; closing debt = Σ balances after drawdowns, repayments and schedule
AssumptionNet finance costs £11.65m£11.7m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · Premier League · Wikipedia · SportsPro · Roundtable · Footy Headlines
-£13.6m-£72.9m-£73.3m-£11.1m£34.7m-£96.5m-£106.5m-£106.5m-£106.5m
Tax charge/(credit)
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationTax charge/(credit)-£23.4m
= pre-tax loss £-106.49m × 22% credit-recognition rate, matching the filed pattern of deferred-tax assets recognised on losses
CalculationProfit/(loss) before tax-£106.5m
= operating profit + player disposal profit + finance income − finance costs
CalculationOperating profit/(loss) excluding player trading-£128.5m
= EBITDA − player amortisation; this filer does not disclose depreciation separately, so it already sits inside other operating costs and is not deducted twice
CalculationEBITDA-£28.6m
= revenue − staff costs − other operating costs
CalculationTotal revenue£316.3m
= matchday + media + commercial
CalculationMatchday revenue 2028/29£41.6m
= (52729 seats × 98.8% utilisation) × (19 league + 6 domestic cup + 0 European home games) × £31.93 per attendee ÷ 1,000,000
FactStadium capacity 2028/29: 52729 seats (official, high)52,729 seats
AssumptionAttendance utilisation 98.8%98.8%
Assumption19 home league matches19 matches
Assumption6 home domestic cup ties6 matches
Assumption0 home European ties0 matches
AssumptionMatchday yield £31.93/attendee31.93 GBP
CalculationMedia / broadcasting revenue£154.5m
= domestic league central distribution + UEFA distributions + domestic cup prize money
CalculationPremier League central distribution£154.5m
= pl_total 2028/29 resolved directly: 154.5
CalculationUEFA distribution 2028/29: zero - club not in European competition£0.0m
= no European participation ⇒ no UEFA distribution
CalculationNot modelled for 2028/29: no evidenced domestic cup prize money
CalculationCommercial revenue fy2029: 0 contracted deals + other commercial base (4 active deal(s) with unreported value excluded)£120.2m
= Σ guaranteed annual values of 0 active deals (£0.0m) + other commercial base £120.2m
Contractadidas (kit-manufacturer) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractKnox Hydrate (shirt-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
Contractnoon.com (sleeve-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractKnox Hydrate (training-ground) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
AssumptionCommercial base beyond registered deals £120.18m£120.2m
CalculationTotal staff costs£243.5m
AssumptionStaff costs £243.48m£243.5m
AssumptionOther operating costs £101.4m£101.4m
CalculationPlayer registration amortisation£99.9m
= held at the club's own last filed amortisation charge: the player subledger holds no registrations for this period and there is no filed NBV anchor to run residual cohorts off
AssumptionPlayer amortisation £99.87m£99.9m
CalculationProfit on disposal of registrations£30.9m
= known transactions (subledger) + baseline assumption for windows that have not yet happened
CalculationKnown disposals (subledger: fee − NBV per player)£0.0m
= guaranteed fee − net book value at disposal, per player
AssumptionBaseline disposal profit £30.85m£30.9m
AssumptionFinance income £2.79m£2.8m
CalculationFinance costs£11.7m
= interest on debt instruments + other finance charges + interest on opening revolver draws (in-year draws accrue from the following period)
CalculationFinancing fy2029: interest £0.0m, closing debt £0.0m£0.0m
= per instrument: interest = avg(opening, closing) × rate; closing debt = Σ balances after drawdowns, repayments and schedule
AssumptionNet finance costs £11.65m£11.7m
AssumptionDeferred-tax credit rate on losses 22%22%
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · Premier League · Wikipedia · SportsPro · Roundtable · Footy Headlines
-£1.4m-£2.2m£0.1m£0.0m£0.0m-£21.2m-£23.4m-£23.4m-£23.4m
Profit/(loss) for the year
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationProfit/(loss) for the year-£83.1m
= PBT − tax
CalculationProfit/(loss) before tax-£106.5m
= operating profit + player disposal profit + finance income − finance costs
CalculationOperating profit/(loss) excluding player trading-£128.5m
= EBITDA − player amortisation; this filer does not disclose depreciation separately, so it already sits inside other operating costs and is not deducted twice
CalculationEBITDA-£28.6m
= revenue − staff costs − other operating costs
CalculationTotal revenue£316.3m
= matchday + media + commercial
CalculationMatchday revenue 2028/29£41.6m
= (52729 seats × 98.8% utilisation) × (19 league + 6 domestic cup + 0 European home games) × £31.93 per attendee ÷ 1,000,000
FactStadium capacity 2028/29: 52729 seats (official, high)52,729 seats
AssumptionAttendance utilisation 98.8%98.8%
Assumption19 home league matches19 matches
Assumption6 home domestic cup ties6 matches
Assumption0 home European ties0 matches
AssumptionMatchday yield £31.93/attendee31.93 GBP
CalculationMedia / broadcasting revenue£154.5m
= domestic league central distribution + UEFA distributions + domestic cup prize money
CalculationPremier League central distribution£154.5m
= pl_total 2028/29 resolved directly: 154.5
CalculationUEFA distribution 2028/29: zero - club not in European competition£0.0m
= no European participation ⇒ no UEFA distribution
CalculationNot modelled for 2028/29: no evidenced domestic cup prize money
CalculationCommercial revenue fy2029: 0 contracted deals + other commercial base (4 active deal(s) with unreported value excluded)£120.2m
= Σ guaranteed annual values of 0 active deals (£0.0m) + other commercial base £120.2m
Contractadidas (kit-manufacturer) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractKnox Hydrate (shirt-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
Contractnoon.com (sleeve-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractKnox Hydrate (training-ground) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
AssumptionCommercial base beyond registered deals £120.18m£120.2m
CalculationTotal staff costs£243.5m
AssumptionStaff costs £243.48m£243.5m
AssumptionOther operating costs £101.4m£101.4m
CalculationPlayer registration amortisation£99.9m
= held at the club's own last filed amortisation charge: the player subledger holds no registrations for this period and there is no filed NBV anchor to run residual cohorts off
AssumptionPlayer amortisation £99.87m£99.9m
CalculationProfit on disposal of registrations£30.9m
= known transactions (subledger) + baseline assumption for windows that have not yet happened
CalculationKnown disposals (subledger: fee − NBV per player)£0.0m
= guaranteed fee − net book value at disposal, per player
AssumptionBaseline disposal profit £30.85m£30.9m
AssumptionFinance income £2.79m£2.8m
CalculationFinance costs£11.7m
= interest on debt instruments + other finance charges + interest on opening revolver draws (in-year draws accrue from the following period)
CalculationFinancing fy2029: interest £0.0m, closing debt £0.0m£0.0m
= per instrument: interest = avg(opening, closing) × rate; closing debt = Σ balances after drawdowns, repayments and schedule
AssumptionNet finance costs £11.65m£11.7m
CalculationTax charge/(credit)-£23.4m
= pre-tax loss £-106.49m × 22% credit-recognition rate, matching the filed pattern of deferred-tax assets recognised on losses
CalculationProfit/(loss) before tax-£106.5m
= operating profit + player disposal profit + finance income − finance costs
CalculationOperating profit/(loss) excluding player trading-£128.5m
= EBITDA − player amortisation; this filer does not disclose depreciation separately, so it already sits inside other operating costs and is not deducted twice
CalculationEBITDA-£28.6m
= revenue − staff costs − other operating costs
CalculationTotal revenue£316.3m
= matchday + media + commercial
CalculationMatchday revenue 2028/29£41.6m
= (52729 seats × 98.8% utilisation) × (19 league + 6 domestic cup + 0 European home games) × £31.93 per attendee ÷ 1,000,000
CalculationMedia / broadcasting revenue£154.5m
= domestic league central distribution + UEFA distributions + domestic cup prize money
CalculationCommercial revenue fy2029: 0 contracted deals + other commercial base (4 active deal(s) with unreported value excluded)£120.2m
= Σ guaranteed annual values of 0 active deals (£0.0m) + other commercial base £120.2m
CalculationTotal staff costs£243.5m
AssumptionStaff costs £243.48m£243.5m
AssumptionOther operating costs £101.4m£101.4m
CalculationPlayer registration amortisation£99.9m
= held at the club's own last filed amortisation charge: the player subledger holds no registrations for this period and there is no filed NBV anchor to run residual cohorts off
AssumptionPlayer amortisation £99.87m£99.9m
CalculationProfit on disposal of registrations£30.9m
= known transactions (subledger) + baseline assumption for windows that have not yet happened
CalculationKnown disposals (subledger: fee − NBV per player)£0.0m
= guaranteed fee − net book value at disposal, per player
AssumptionBaseline disposal profit £30.85m£30.9m
AssumptionFinance income £2.79m£2.8m
CalculationFinance costs£11.7m
= interest on debt instruments + other finance charges + interest on opening revolver draws (in-year draws accrue from the following period)
CalculationFinancing fy2029: interest £0.0m, closing debt £0.0m£0.0m
= per instrument: interest = avg(opening, closing) × rate; closing debt = Σ balances after drawdowns, repayments and schedule
AssumptionNet finance costs £11.65m£11.7m
AssumptionDeferred-tax credit rate on losses 22%22%
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · Premier League · Wikipedia · SportsPro · Roundtable · Footy Headlines
- - - - - -£75.3m-£83.1m-£83.1m-£83.1m
Reconciliation status
Audited periods reconcile against the filed accounts: 32 checks reconciled, none unreconciled. Estimates and forecasts are labelled and carry confidence levels - lines marked ◦ are PSRwatch analytical splits, not audited categories.
Source register (14)

Every fact, event and agreement in this model cites at least one of these records. Tier 1 = official (filings, club, league, UEFA); Tier 2 = reliable press; Tier 3 = specialist databases, always labelled and never treated as audited figures.

Newcastle United Limited - annual report and financial statements, period ended 2023-06-30Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · tier1
Newcastle United Limited - annual report and financial statements, period ended 2024-06-30Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · tier1
Newcastle United Limited - annual report and financial statements, period ended 2025-06-30Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · tier1
Newcastle United Limited - annual report and financial statements, period ended 2022-06-30Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · tier1
PSRwatch is independent. Figures are unofficial estimates from public filings, transfer data and PSRwatch modelling. They are not endorsed by the Premier League, EFL, UEFA or any club.