PSRwatchPSRwatch
Back to the board
Model updated: 02 Sept 2026
Brentford logo

Brentford

2026/27 spending-room estimate

CompareOpen calculator
Levy zoneFinancial forecast
Quick answer

PSRwatch estimates Brentford's 2026/27 squad-cost ratio at 99% of football income - above the 85% Green Threshold but comfortably below the 115% Red Threshold - the levy / allowance zone. That leaves roughly £33m of annual squad-cost room before the 115% Red Threshold. Model updated: 02 Sept 2026 · Accounts data refreshed: 18 Jul 2026. These are independent PSRwatch estimates, not official Premier League calculations.

Use this page to answer: “How much can Brentford spend?” · “How close are Brentford to a points deduction?” · “What is Brentford's squad-cost ratio?”

Room to the Red Threshold

Room to Red Threshold
£33m

Annual squad-cost room before the 115% Red Threshold - the primary line where sporting-sanction (points) risk starts.

Squad-cost ratio
99% of 115%

The 115% Red Threshold is the primary sporting-sanction line. The 85% Green Threshold is the secondary levy / allowance line.

Room to Green Threshold
(£30m)

Room before the 85% Green Threshold, above which a levy / allowance charge (not a points deduction) applies to overspend.

Levy / allowance exposure
£30m

Levy on overspend above the 85% Green Threshold - a fine, not a points deduction.

What this means for Brentford

They are above the 85% Green Threshold but inside the 115% Red Threshold, so the exposure is a levy / allowance charge on around £30m of overspend - a fine, not a points deduction.

Confirmed transfers this summer have reduced remaining room by about £32m (+15.3 percentage points).

The old-PSR model is not expected to be the biggest issue in the 2023/24-2025/26 closeout window.

How Brentford compare

Compare with another club →
Room to the Red Threshold
£33m
16th of 20 Premier League clubs
League median £72m
Squad-cost ratio
99%
16th of 20 Premier League clubs
League median 92%
Football income
£212m
14th of 20 Premier League clubs
League median £265m

Ranked on PSRwatch's own 2026/27 estimates, not official league figures.

Why this club is in this position

2026/27 · Premier League Squad Cost Ratio - a PSRwatch model, not an official league finding.

The numbers behind it
Football income£212m
Squad cost£210m
- of which wages£147m
- of which amortisation£55m
Player trading contribution£8m
Room to Green Threshold (85%)−£30m
Room to Red Threshold (115%)+£33m
What creates the pressure
  • High wage bill - £147m a year is 70% of squad cost
  • Over the 85% Green Threshold - levy exposure (a fine, not a points deduction)
What improves the position
  • A sale would improve headroom - sale profit counts in the model straight away
  • Higher football income adds room - every £1m of income covers more squad cost
  • Lower wages (departures or expiring deals) reduce squad cost fastest
And under Old PSR (2023/242025/26, the older loss-based rule)
  • Profitable three-year window - losses are not the issue
  • No eligible owner equity found in the filings, so the £15m baseline allowance applies
Full figures (baseline, source-backed and max-funded scenario) are in the Old PSR result section below.

Where to go next

See Brentford's financial forecast - the income statement, projected forward from filed accounts, with every figure traceable to its source.

Season view

ProjectionSquad-cost basis
Football income
£212m
Squad cost
£210m
Squad-cost ratio
99%
Room to Red Threshold
£33m
Levy zoneCurrent PSRwatch view using public data.
2026/27 - Premier League squad-cost projection. This is the live view used across the rest of this page.
What does this mean?Forward-looking squad-cost estimate for 2026/27, built from public filings, reported transfer data, provider wage estimates and PSRwatch assumptions. Subject to transfer, wage, revenue and rule changes. These are unofficial PSRwatch estimates - final regulatory decisions sit with the leagues. Methodology

Transfer effect

This table translates confirmed transfer activity into spending-room impact. A transfer fee is normally spread across the player's contract as an annual transfer-fee cost. Wages, signing fees, agent fees, loans and sales then change the live squad-cost position.

Player / itemMoveFrom / ToFeeContractAnnual transfer-fee costBook profit/lossRatio movement
Benjamin ArthurLoan outPortsmouth FC£0m1 yrs£0m£0m-2.1pp
Benjamin FredrickInBrentford FC BUndisclosed4 yrs~£6m~£0m+5.5pp
Callum WilsonInWest Ham United£0m3 yrs£0m£0m+2.4pp
Ethan PinnockOutCoventry City£5mSale/no fee spread£0m£3m-1.0pp
Frank OnyekaOutCoventry City£6mSale/no fee spread£0m£4m-1.0pp
Jaidon AnthonyInBurnley FC£15m4 yrs£4m£0m+4.3pp
Jannik SchusterInRed Bull Salzburg£15m4 yrs£4m£0m+4.0pp
Josh StephensonInBrentford FC BUndisclosed4 yrs~£6m~£0m+5.5pp
Josh StephensonLoan outCrewe Alexandra£0m1 yrs£0m£0m-2.1pp
Julian EyestoneLoan outRotherham United£0m1 yrs£0m£0m-1.9pp
Mamadou SangaréInRC Lens£40m4 yrs£11m£0m+8.1pp
Matthew CoxLoan outBarnet FC£0m1 yrs£0m£0m-1.9pp
Romelle DonovanLoan outSheffield United£0m1 yrs£0m£0m-2.4pp
Yunus KonakLoan outLincoln City£0m1 yrs£0m£0m-2.1pp

~ Undisclosed fees use a PSRwatch modelling estimate to derive squad-cost figures. Undisclosed or estimated sale fees are not counted as real football income until reported or filed.

Football income

The squad-cost ratio depends on football income, so PSRwatch starts from the latest filed accounts and then estimates the 2026/27 income base.

Latest actual revenue
£173m

2024/25

Football income
£212m

£199m low / £225m high

Player trading
£8m

Built from filed accounts or reported sale fees only - undisclosed-fee estimates never count as income.

Latest actual revenue
£173m
Matchday forecast
£37m
Broadcasting forecast
£96m
Commercial forecast
£71m
UEFA forecast
£0m
Player trading contribution
£8m
Football income
£212m

Latest filed revenue baseline: 2024/25.

Central forecast starts from the committed club forecast and splits football income using a league-typical modelled mix (about 18% matchday / 47% broadcasting in the Premier League) - the club's own filed mix will be used once its accounts disclose one.

Premier League participation is included in the broadcasting and commercial mix.

No UEFA revenue is included unless the club is flagged for Europe.

Low/high range is a deterministic +/-6% sensitivity around central football income.

Forecast income already clears the applicable Premier League floors (income >= GBP 175m, broadcasting >= GBP 95m), so no uplift was needed.

Squad-cost breakdown

Squad cost combines the club's accounts wage bill (all staff - a conservative stand-in for the League's player-and-coach definition), annual transfer-fee costs and estimated agent, signing, loan and bonus costs, compared with football income to give the squad-cost ratio estimate.

Squad wage bill (accounts, all staff)
£147m

From the club's filed accounts: total staff costs including non-playing staff, bonuses and employer NI. The League's squad-cost test counts player and head-coach pay, so this numerator errs conservative.

Annual transfer-fee cost
£55m
Agent, signing, loan and bonus costs
£8m
Other squad-related costs
£0m
Squad cost
£210m
Football income
£212m
Squad Cost Ratio
99.3%
85% capacity (levy starts)
£180m
115% capacity (points deduction starts)
£244m
Room before the levy threshold
(£30m)
Room before a points deduction
£33m
Overspend subject to financial levy
£30m

Spending beyond 85% of football income attracts a financial levy on the overspend.

Other rule frameworks

Brentford are also measured against the older Profitability & Sustainability rules and, where they qualify, UEFA's squad-cost rule. Neither is the live Premier League rule for 2026/27 squad-building.

Old PSR result

£149m roomBaseline allowance2023/242025/26

No eligible owner funding is verified for this window, so PSRwatch uses the £15m baseline allowance - never an assumed maximum. Old PSR is the older three-year loss framework; it is no longer the live rule for 2026/27 squad-building. This is a public-data model, not an official league finding.

View detailed calculation
3-year adjusted result
£134m

2023/24, 2024/25, 2025/26

Baseline allowance
£15m

GBP 5m per known PL/EFL season.

Verified eligible funding available
£0m

Total verified equity in the window - can exceed the amount the cap lets the model apply.

Eligible funding applied
£0m

Capped at £90m above the baseline.

Baseline result
£149m

Room on the baseline allowance only.

Source-backed funded result
unavailable

Baseline + verified owner equity. Unavailable without verified funding.

Max-funded scenario
£239m

If fully owner-funded to £105m - a labelled scenario, never the headline without verified funding.

Leagues
PL / PL / PL

League mix drives PL/EFL loss cap.

3-year adjusted result
£134m
Adjusted old PSR loss
£0m
Base loss allowance
£15m
Verified PSR-eligible equity
£0m
Equity cap
£90m
Equity applied to current loss
£0m
Headline allowable loss
£15m
Baseline room
£149m
Source-backed funded room
£149m
Max-funded scenario room
£239m
Old PSR headroom (headline)
£149m
Old PSR headroom as pct of allowance
991.1%

Owner funding note: Owner funding can affect financial resilience and, under the old PSR framework, support permitted losses. It does not automatically create new squad-cost room under the revenue-linked SCR model. Old PSR allows higher losses only where secure funding/equity is evidenced; owner and shareholder loans are excluded unless validly converted to eligible equity. Before undisclosed/private adjustments.

UEFA rules

Not currently flagged for UEFA squad-cost rules.

UEFA status
Not flagged

Not currently flagged for UEFA rules.

UEFA ratio
N/A

No UEFA squad-cost calculation applied.

Player ledger

Player-level squad-cost model from contract, wage and player-registration cost data.

Per-player wages are gross fixed salaries from public sources, or a labelled estimate where no salary is published. This table is a DECOMPOSITION: the squad-cost estimate above stays anchored to the club's own filed accounts, and the difference is shown below rather than hidden.

Reconciliation to the accounts: players listed here account for £88m of the £147m wage bill, leaving £59m unallocated (bonuses, employer NI, coaching and non-playing staff), and £62m of the £55m player-registration amortisation - £7m MORE than the club's filed charge, because contracts signed since that year end amortise above it. The club totals come from the accounts; this table never replaces them.
PlayerPositionContract endCapitalised costWage estimateAnnual transfer-fee costAnnual squad cost
Caoimhín KelleherGoalkeeper2030-06-30£13m£3m£3m£6m
Hákon ValdimarssonGoalkeeper2030-06-30£0m£1m£0mapportioned£1m
Ellery BalcombeGoalkeeper2029-06-30£0m£1m£0mapportioned£1m
Sepp van den BergCentre-Back2029-06-30£20m£1m£7m£8m
Nathan CollinsCentre-Back2029-06-30£0m£2m£0mapportioned£2m
Kristoffer AjerCentre-Back2030-06-30£0m£3m£0mapportioned£3m
Jannik SchusterCentre-Back2031-06-30£15m£3m-£4mest£3m£7m
Ji-soo KimCentre-Back2027-06-30£0m£0m£0mapportioned£0m
Benjamin FredrickCentre-Back2030-06-30£25m£2m-£4mest£0mapportioned£3m
Rico HenryLeft-Back2027-06-30£0m£3m£0mapportioned£3m
Jayden MeghomaLeft-Back2028-06-30£5m£1m£2m£3m
Michael KayodeRight-Back2032-06-30£0m£3m£0mapportioned£3m
Aaron HickeyRight-Back2028-06-30£0m£4m£0mapportioned£4m
Vitaly JaneltDefensive Midfield2030-06-30£0m£3m£0mapportioned£3m
Mamadou SangaréCentral Midfield2031-06-30£41m£3m-£4mest£8m£12m
Yegor YarmolyukCentral Midfield2031-06-30£0m£1m£0mapportioned£1m
Mathias JensenCentral Midfield2027-06-30£0m£3m£0mapportioned£3m
Josh DasilvaCentral Midfield2027-06-30£0m£2m£0mfree/loan£2m
Keane Lewis-PotterLeft Midfield2031-06-30£0m£3m£0mapportioned£3m
Mikkel DamsgaardAttacking Midfield2030-06-30£0m£4m£0mapportioned£4m
Antoni MilamboAttacking Midfield2030-06-30£17m£2m£4m£6m
Fábio CarvalhoAttacking Midfield2029-06-30£20m£2m£7m£9m
Kevin SchadeLeft Winger2028-06-30£0m£1m£0mapportioned£1m
Jaidon AnthonyLeft Winger2030-06-30£15m£3m-£4mest£4m£8m
Gustavo NunesLeft Winger2030-06-30£0m£1m£0mapportioned£1m
Dango OuattaraRight Winger2030-06-30£37m£3m£9m£12m
Igor ThiagoCentre-Forward2031-06-30£28m£4m£6m£9m
Kaye FuroCentre-Forward2031-06-30£9m£1m£2m£3m
Callum WilsonCentre-Forward2027-06-30£0m£3m-£4mest£0mfree/loan£4m
Benjamin ArthurSEN2027-06-30£0m£3m-£4mest£0m£4m
Josh StephensonSEN2030-06-30£26m£5m£6m£12m
Matthew CoxSEN2027-06-30£0m£3m-£4mest£0m£4m
Romelle DonovanSEN2027-06-30£0m£3m-£4mest£0m£4m
Yunus KonakSEN2027-06-30£0m£3m-£4mest£0m£4m

Methodology and sources

Premier League SCR is estimated as squad costs divided by football income. Spending between 85% and 115% of football income attracts a financial levy on the overspend; crossing 115% brings a fixed 6-point deduction plus 1 further point per GBP 6.5m spent beyond the 115% capacity.

Squad costs use the club's accounts wage bill (all staff - conservative vs the League's player-and-coach definition), annual transfer-fee cost, and estimated agent, signing, loan and bonus costs.

Transfer fees are spread across contract life. Sales compare proceeds with remaining book value to estimate book profit or loss.

Revenue forecasts start from the latest filed accounts and committed club forecast, then split 2026/27 football income into matchday, broadcasting, commercial, UEFA and player-trading lines.

Old PSR is retained only as a 2023/24-2025/26 closeout layer. Owner funding can support the old loss allowance when available and capped, but it does not create new SCR revenue capacity.

Each public snapshot is generated from PSRwatch-owned JSON files after validation, with the last good snapshot kept if an upstream refresh fails.

Brentford latest accounts extract (2024/25) - Accounts values are parsed from Companies House filings where available, then normalised into the committed full dataset.

PSRwatch 2026/27 squad-cost forecast - Forecast uses committed income, wage, annual transfer-fee cost and transfer assumptions with deterministic rule calculations.

Spotted something wrong for Brentford? Report an issue.

Glossary

Squad Cost Ratio
Squad costs divided by football income.
Football income
Forecast matchday, broadcasting, commercial, UEFA and relevant player-trading income used as the SCR denominator.
Room before limit
Annual squad-cost capacity before the 85% levy threshold is reached.
Levy threshold (85%)
Spending beyond 85% of football income attracts a financial levy (fine) on the overspend, up to the 115% buffer.
Red zone / points threshold (115%)
Crossing 115% of football income brings a fixed 6-point deduction, plus 1 further point per GBP 6.5m spent beyond the 115% capacity.
UEFA rules
Separate squad-cost pressure for clubs in European competition, shown against a 70% threshold.
Old PSR
The old three-year loss-based regime, retained as a closeout layer for 2023/24-2025/26.
Owner equity / secure funding
Funding that can support old PSR loss allowance when available and capped, but does not automatically add SCR capacity.
Annual transfer-fee cost
Capitalised transfer cost spread across the player's contract.
Book value
Unamortised capitalised player cost remaining on the balance sheet.
Book profit/loss
Sale proceeds less remaining book value and sale costs.
Academy sale
Sale of a club-developed player, often carrying low book value and high book profit.
Free transfer
A transfer with no fee, though wages, signing fee and agent fee can still affect squad cost.
Loan fee
Temporary fee or wage contribution linked to a loan move.
Transfer effect
Change in annual squad-cost room caused by transfer activity.
Spendable capacity
Annual squad-cost room converted into a football-language estimate, not a recommendation or exact budget.

What changed

Brentford's financial model was last published on 2 September 2026. 82 published revisions on record.

No figures changed in the latest rebuild - the published position is unchanged.

Financial forecast

Financial model built from filed accounts, sourced facts and labelled assumptions, with a forward income-statement forecast. Expand any line to see where the number comes from.

Model completeness 76%Forecast confidence lowReadiness Tier BReconciliation fullModel platform-v1.1
Revenue 2028/29F
£193.2m
Staff costs
£130.8m
Player amortisation
£20.2m
Pre-tax result
£8.9m
Squad-cost ratio
-
2020/21AFiled accounts2021/22AFiled accounts2022/23AFiled accounts2023/24AFiled accounts2024/25AFiled accounts2025/26EPSRwatch estimate2026/27FPSRwatch forecast2027/28FPSRwatch forecast2028/29FPSRwatch forecast
What moves revenue from 2024/25A to 2028/29F
  • Matchday+£0.0m
  • Media & competition distributions+£21.9m
  • Commercial+£0.0m

Calculated from the model itself - the same numbers as the statement lines below, not separately maintained copy.

Income statement
Line (£m)2020/21A2021/22A2022/23A2023/24A2024/25A2025/26E2026/27F2027/28F2028/29F
Total revenue
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationTotal revenue£193.2m
= matchday + media + commercial
CalculationMatchday revenue 2028/29£12.4m
= (17250 seats × 99.3% utilisation) × (19 league + 1 domestic cup + 0 European home games) × £36.13 per attendee ÷ 1,000,000
FactStadium capacity 2028/29: 17250 seats (official, high)17,250 seats
AssumptionAttendance utilisation 99.3%99.3%
Assumption19 home league matches19 matches
Assumption1 home domestic cup ties1 matches
Assumption0 home European ties0 matches
AssumptionMatchday yield £36.13/attendee36.13 GBP
CalculationMedia / broadcasting revenue£161.5m
= domestic league central distribution + UEFA distributions + domestic cup prize money
CalculationPremier League central distribution£161.5m
= pl_total 2028/29 resolved directly: 161.5
AssumptionPL central distributions £161.5m£161.5m
CalculationUEFA distribution 2028/29: zero - club not in European competition£0.0m
= no European participation ⇒ no UEFA distribution
EventNo European competition 2028/29 (assumed)£0.0m
CalculationNot modelled for 2028/29: no evidenced domestic cup prize money
CalculationCommercial revenue fy2029: 0 contracted deals + other commercial base (4 active deal(s) with unreported value excluded)£19.4m
= Σ guaranteed annual values of 0 active deals (£0.0m) + other commercial base £19.4m
ContractJoma Sport S.A. (kit-manufacturer) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractIndeed (shirt-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractGrey Technology Limited (Gtech) (stadium-naming) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractIndeed (training-kit) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
AssumptionCommercial base beyond registered deals £19.36m£19.4m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · Brentford FC · Wikipedia · Brentford FC · Brentford FC · Brentford FC
£15.3m£140.9m£166.5m£166.5m£173.1m£193.2m£193.2m£193.2m£193.2m
Matchday revenue
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationMatchday revenue 2028/29£12.4m
= (17250 seats × 99.3% utilisation) × (19 league + 1 domestic cup + 0 European home games) × £36.13 per attendee ÷ 1,000,000
FactStadium capacity 2028/29: 17250 seats (official, high)17,250 seats
AssumptionAttendance utilisation 99.3%99.3%
Assumption19 home league matches19 matches
Assumption1 home domestic cup ties1 matches
Assumption0 home European ties0 matches
AssumptionMatchday yield £36.13/attendee36.13 GBP
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · Brentford FC · Wikipedia
- - £11.3m£11.3m£12.4m£12.4m£12.4m£12.4m£12.4m
Media / broadcasting revenue
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationMedia / broadcasting revenue£161.5m
= domestic league central distribution + UEFA distributions + domestic cup prize money
CalculationPremier League central distribution£161.5m
= pl_total 2028/29 resolved directly: 161.5
AssumptionPL central distributions £161.5m£161.5m
CalculationUEFA distribution 2028/29: zero - club not in European competition£0.0m
= no European participation ⇒ no UEFA distribution
EventNo European competition 2028/29 (assumed)£0.0m
CalculationNot modelled for 2028/29: no evidenced domestic cup prize money
Sources: Wikipedia
- - £135.2m£127.5m£139.6m£161.5m£161.5m£161.5m£161.5m
Premier League distributions
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationPremier League central distribution£161.5m
= pl_total 2028/29 resolved directly: 161.5
AssumptionPL central distributions £161.5m£161.5m
- - - - - £161.5m£161.5m£161.5m£161.5m
UEFA distributions
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationUEFA distribution 2028/29: zero - club not in European competition£0.0m
= no European participation ⇒ no UEFA distribution
EventNo European competition 2028/29 (assumed)£0.0m
Sources: Wikipedia
- - - - - £0.0m£0.0m£0.0m£0.0m
Commercial revenue
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationCommercial revenue fy2029: 0 contracted deals + other commercial base (4 active deal(s) with unreported value excluded)£19.4m
= Σ guaranteed annual values of 0 active deals (£0.0m) + other commercial base £19.4m
ContractJoma Sport S.A. (kit-manufacturer) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractIndeed (shirt-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractGrey Technology Limited (Gtech) (stadium-naming) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractIndeed (training-kit) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
AssumptionCommercial base beyond registered deals £19.36m£19.4m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · Brentford FC · Brentford FC · Brentford FC
- - £18.9m£16.0m£19.4m£19.4m£19.4m£19.4m£19.4m
Other revenue
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
AssumptionOther revenue £10.19m£10.2m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts)
£2.9m£1.9m£3.6m£5.4m£10.2m£10.2m£10.2m£10.2m£10.2m
Total staff costs
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationTotal staff costs£130.8m
AssumptionStaff costs £130.78m£130.8m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts)
£41.5m£68.2m£98.8m£114.4m£130.8m£130.8m£130.8m£130.8m£130.8m
Other operating costs
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
AssumptionOther operating costs £44.91m£44.9m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts)
- £25.7m£36.0m£51.2m£44.9m£44.9m£44.9m£44.9m£44.9m
EBITDA
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationEBITDA£17.6m
= revenue − staff costs − other operating costs
CalculationTotal revenue£193.2m
= matchday + media + commercial
CalculationMatchday revenue 2028/29£12.4m
= (17250 seats × 99.3% utilisation) × (19 league + 1 domestic cup + 0 European home games) × £36.13 per attendee ÷ 1,000,000
FactStadium capacity 2028/29: 17250 seats (official, high)17,250 seats
AssumptionAttendance utilisation 99.3%99.3%
Assumption19 home league matches19 matches
Assumption1 home domestic cup ties1 matches
Assumption0 home European ties0 matches
AssumptionMatchday yield £36.13/attendee36.13 GBP
CalculationMedia / broadcasting revenue£161.5m
= domestic league central distribution + UEFA distributions + domestic cup prize money
CalculationPremier League central distribution£161.5m
= pl_total 2028/29 resolved directly: 161.5
AssumptionPL central distributions £161.5m£161.5m
CalculationUEFA distribution 2028/29: zero - club not in European competition£0.0m
= no European participation ⇒ no UEFA distribution
EventNo European competition 2028/29 (assumed)£0.0m
CalculationNot modelled for 2028/29: no evidenced domestic cup prize money
CalculationCommercial revenue fy2029: 0 contracted deals + other commercial base (4 active deal(s) with unreported value excluded)£19.4m
= Σ guaranteed annual values of 0 active deals (£0.0m) + other commercial base £19.4m
ContractJoma Sport S.A. (kit-manufacturer) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractIndeed (shirt-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractGrey Technology Limited (Gtech) (stadium-naming) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractIndeed (training-kit) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
AssumptionCommercial base beyond registered deals £19.36m£19.4m
CalculationTotal staff costs£130.8m
AssumptionStaff costs £130.78m£130.8m
AssumptionOther operating costs £44.91m£44.9m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · Brentford FC · Wikipedia · Brentford FC · Brentford FC · Brentford FC
- £48.9m£35.4m£6.3m£7.6m£17.6m£17.6m£17.6m£17.6m
Player registration amortisation
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationPlayer registration amortisation£20.2m
= player-level subledger + unattributed cohort run-off (filed-NBV reconciliation) + baseline future squad investment
CalculationPlayer registration amortisation (subledger)£0.0m
= straight-line amortisation of each registration over its contract (day-count)
CalculationUnattributed registration cohort amortisation (fy2029)£0.0m
= per-year unexplained filed additions, 5.5y straight-line (mid-year convention), scaled ×3.047 to tie the anchor NBV to the filed balance exactly - an explicit reconciliation item for agent fees, capitalised add-ons and unmodelled smaller signings; aggregate only, never player-level
AssumptionResidual cohort method: 5.5-year assumed life; anchor gap £182.39m = filed £182.39m − subledger £0m
AssumptionBaseline future squad investment amortisation (£20.16m; cohorts totalling £152.04m over 6.6y)£20.2m
AssumptionBaseline squad investment £38.01m£38.0m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts)
- £22.9m£30.9m£35.6m£47.6m£71.1m£76.8m£60.4m£20.2m
Player registration impairment
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationPlayer registration impairment£0.0m
= no impairment assumed: impairments follow specific squad events (a player written down after injury or exclusion) and are not forecastable from public data. Any impairment would reduce the result below this base case
- - - - - £0.0m£0.0m£0.0m£0.0m
Operating profit/(loss)
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationOperating profit/(loss) excluding player trading-£2.6m
= EBITDA − player amortisation; this filer does not disclose depreciation separately, so it already sits inside other operating costs and is not deducted twice
CalculationEBITDA£17.6m
= revenue − staff costs − other operating costs
CalculationTotal revenue£193.2m
= matchday + media + commercial
CalculationMatchday revenue 2028/29£12.4m
= (17250 seats × 99.3% utilisation) × (19 league + 1 domestic cup + 0 European home games) × £36.13 per attendee ÷ 1,000,000
FactStadium capacity 2028/29: 17250 seats (official, high)17,250 seats
AssumptionAttendance utilisation 99.3%99.3%
Assumption19 home league matches19 matches
Assumption1 home domestic cup ties1 matches
Assumption0 home European ties0 matches
AssumptionMatchday yield £36.13/attendee36.13 GBP
CalculationMedia / broadcasting revenue£161.5m
= domestic league central distribution + UEFA distributions + domestic cup prize money
CalculationPremier League central distribution£161.5m
= pl_total 2028/29 resolved directly: 161.5
AssumptionPL central distributions £161.5m£161.5m
CalculationUEFA distribution 2028/29: zero - club not in European competition£0.0m
= no European participation ⇒ no UEFA distribution
EventNo European competition 2028/29 (assumed)£0.0m
CalculationNot modelled for 2028/29: no evidenced domestic cup prize money
CalculationCommercial revenue fy2029: 0 contracted deals + other commercial base (4 active deal(s) with unreported value excluded)£19.4m
= Σ guaranteed annual values of 0 active deals (£0.0m) + other commercial base £19.4m
ContractJoma Sport S.A. (kit-manufacturer) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractIndeed (shirt-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractGrey Technology Limited (Gtech) (stadium-naming) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractIndeed (training-kit) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
AssumptionCommercial base beyond registered deals £19.36m£19.4m
CalculationTotal staff costs£130.8m
AssumptionStaff costs £130.78m£130.8m
AssumptionOther operating costs £44.91m£44.9m
CalculationPlayer registration amortisation£20.2m
= player-level subledger + unattributed cohort run-off (filed-NBV reconciliation) + baseline future squad investment
CalculationPlayer registration amortisation (subledger)£0.0m
= straight-line amortisation of each registration over its contract (day-count)
CalculationUnattributed registration cohort amortisation (fy2029)£0.0m
= per-year unexplained filed additions, 5.5y straight-line (mid-year convention), scaled ×3.047 to tie the anchor NBV to the filed balance exactly - an explicit reconciliation item for agent fees, capitalised add-ons and unmodelled smaller signings; aggregate only, never player-level
AssumptionResidual cohort method: 5.5-year assumed life; anchor gap £182.39m = filed £182.39m − subledger £0m
AssumptionBaseline future squad investment amortisation (£20.16m; cohorts totalling £152.04m over 6.6y)£20.2m
AssumptionBaseline squad investment £38.01m£38.0m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · Brentford FC · Wikipedia · Brentford FC · Brentford FC · Brentford FC
-£53.1m£26.0m£4.5m-£29.2m-£40.0m-£53.5m-£59.3m-£42.8m-£2.6m
Profit on disposal of player registrations
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationProfit on disposal of registrations£19.3m
= known transactions (subledger) + baseline assumption for windows that have not yet happened
CalculationKnown disposals (subledger: fee − NBV per player)£0.0m
= guaranteed fee − net book value at disposal, per player
AssumptionBaseline disposal profit £19.33m£19.3m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts)
£44.3m£4.6m£5.6m£25.2m£27.2m£19.3m£19.3m£19.3m£19.3m
Finance income
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
AssumptionFinance income £2.68m£2.7m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts)
£1.7m£1.4m£1.2m£1.2m£2.7m£2.7m£2.7m£2.7m£2.7m
Finance costs
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationFinance costs£10.4m
= interest on debt instruments + other finance charges + interest on opening revolver draws (in-year draws accrue from the following period)
CalculationFinancing fy2029: interest £0.0m, closing debt £0.0m£0.0m
= per instrument: interest = avg(opening, closing) × rate; closing debt = Σ balances after drawdowns, repayments and schedule
AssumptionNet finance costs £10.45m£10.4m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts)
£1.3m£1.2m£2.0m£5.0m£10.4m£10.4m£10.4m£10.4m£10.4m
Profit/(loss) before tax
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationProfit/(loss) before tax£8.9m
= operating profit + player disposal profit + finance income − finance costs
CalculationOperating profit/(loss) excluding player trading-£2.6m
= EBITDA − player amortisation; this filer does not disclose depreciation separately, so it already sits inside other operating costs and is not deducted twice
CalculationEBITDA£17.6m
= revenue − staff costs − other operating costs
CalculationTotal revenue£193.2m
= matchday + media + commercial
CalculationMatchday revenue 2028/29£12.4m
= (17250 seats × 99.3% utilisation) × (19 league + 1 domestic cup + 0 European home games) × £36.13 per attendee ÷ 1,000,000
FactStadium capacity 2028/29: 17250 seats (official, high)17,250 seats
AssumptionAttendance utilisation 99.3%99.3%
Assumption19 home league matches19 matches
Assumption1 home domestic cup ties1 matches
Assumption0 home European ties0 matches
AssumptionMatchday yield £36.13/attendee36.13 GBP
CalculationMedia / broadcasting revenue£161.5m
= domestic league central distribution + UEFA distributions + domestic cup prize money
CalculationPremier League central distribution£161.5m
= pl_total 2028/29 resolved directly: 161.5
AssumptionPL central distributions £161.5m£161.5m
CalculationUEFA distribution 2028/29: zero - club not in European competition£0.0m
= no European participation ⇒ no UEFA distribution
EventNo European competition 2028/29 (assumed)£0.0m
CalculationNot modelled for 2028/29: no evidenced domestic cup prize money
CalculationCommercial revenue fy2029: 0 contracted deals + other commercial base (4 active deal(s) with unreported value excluded)£19.4m
= Σ guaranteed annual values of 0 active deals (£0.0m) + other commercial base £19.4m
ContractJoma Sport S.A. (kit-manufacturer) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractIndeed (shirt-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractGrey Technology Limited (Gtech) (stadium-naming) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractIndeed (training-kit) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
AssumptionCommercial base beyond registered deals £19.36m£19.4m
CalculationTotal staff costs£130.8m
AssumptionStaff costs £130.78m£130.8m
AssumptionOther operating costs £44.91m£44.9m
CalculationPlayer registration amortisation£20.2m
= player-level subledger + unattributed cohort run-off (filed-NBV reconciliation) + baseline future squad investment
CalculationPlayer registration amortisation (subledger)£0.0m
= straight-line amortisation of each registration over its contract (day-count)
CalculationUnattributed registration cohort amortisation (fy2029)£0.0m
= per-year unexplained filed additions, 5.5y straight-line (mid-year convention), scaled ×3.047 to tie the anchor NBV to the filed balance exactly - an explicit reconciliation item for agent fees, capitalised add-ons and unmodelled smaller signings; aggregate only, never player-level
AssumptionResidual cohort method: 5.5-year assumed life; anchor gap £182.39m = filed £182.39m − subledger £0m
AssumptionBaseline future squad investment amortisation (£20.16m; cohorts totalling £152.04m over 6.6y)£20.2m
AssumptionBaseline squad investment £38.01m£38.0m
CalculationProfit on disposal of registrations£19.3m
= known transactions (subledger) + baseline assumption for windows that have not yet happened
CalculationKnown disposals (subledger: fee − NBV per player)£0.0m
= guaranteed fee − net book value at disposal, per player
AssumptionBaseline disposal profit £19.33m£19.3m
AssumptionFinance income £2.68m£2.7m
CalculationFinance costs£10.4m
= interest on debt instruments + other finance charges + interest on opening revolver draws (in-year draws accrue from the following period)
CalculationFinancing fy2029: interest £0.0m, closing debt £0.0m£0.0m
= per instrument: interest = avg(opening, closing) × rate; closing debt = Σ balances after drawdowns, repayments and schedule
AssumptionNet finance costs £10.45m£10.4m
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · Brentford FC · Wikipedia · Brentford FC · Brentford FC · Brentford FC
-£8.5m£29.9m£9.2m-£7.9m-£20.5m-£42.0m-£47.7m-£31.3m£8.9m
Tax charge/(credit)
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationTax charge/(credit)£2.2m
= PBT £8.95m × 25% charge rate; filed profit-year effective rates ran higher (46-67% on small profits) as deferred-tax assets unwound
CalculationProfit/(loss) before tax£8.9m
= operating profit + player disposal profit + finance income − finance costs
CalculationOperating profit/(loss) excluding player trading-£2.6m
= EBITDA − player amortisation; this filer does not disclose depreciation separately, so it already sits inside other operating costs and is not deducted twice
CalculationEBITDA£17.6m
= revenue − staff costs − other operating costs
CalculationTotal revenue£193.2m
= matchday + media + commercial
CalculationMatchday revenue 2028/29£12.4m
= (17250 seats × 99.3% utilisation) × (19 league + 1 domestic cup + 0 European home games) × £36.13 per attendee ÷ 1,000,000
FactStadium capacity 2028/29: 17250 seats (official, high)17,250 seats
AssumptionAttendance utilisation 99.3%99.3%
Assumption19 home league matches19 matches
Assumption1 home domestic cup ties1 matches
Assumption0 home European ties0 matches
AssumptionMatchday yield £36.13/attendee36.13 GBP
CalculationMedia / broadcasting revenue£161.5m
= domestic league central distribution + UEFA distributions + domestic cup prize money
CalculationPremier League central distribution£161.5m
= pl_total 2028/29 resolved directly: 161.5
CalculationUEFA distribution 2028/29: zero - club not in European competition£0.0m
= no European participation ⇒ no UEFA distribution
CalculationNot modelled for 2028/29: no evidenced domestic cup prize money
CalculationCommercial revenue fy2029: 0 contracted deals + other commercial base (4 active deal(s) with unreported value excluded)£19.4m
= Σ guaranteed annual values of 0 active deals (£0.0m) + other commercial base £19.4m
ContractJoma Sport S.A. (kit-manufacturer) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractIndeed (shirt-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractGrey Technology Limited (Gtech) (stadium-naming) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractIndeed (training-kit) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
AssumptionCommercial base beyond registered deals £19.36m£19.4m
CalculationTotal staff costs£130.8m
AssumptionStaff costs £130.78m£130.8m
AssumptionOther operating costs £44.91m£44.9m
CalculationPlayer registration amortisation£20.2m
= player-level subledger + unattributed cohort run-off (filed-NBV reconciliation) + baseline future squad investment
CalculationPlayer registration amortisation (subledger)£0.0m
= straight-line amortisation of each registration over its contract (day-count)
CalculationUnattributed registration cohort amortisation (fy2029)£0.0m
= per-year unexplained filed additions, 5.5y straight-line (mid-year convention), scaled ×3.047 to tie the anchor NBV to the filed balance exactly - an explicit reconciliation item for agent fees, capitalised add-ons and unmodelled smaller signings; aggregate only, never player-level
AssumptionResidual cohort method: 5.5-year assumed life; anchor gap £182.39m = filed £182.39m − subledger £0m
AssumptionBaseline future squad investment amortisation (£20.16m; cohorts totalling £152.04m over 6.6y)£20.2m
AssumptionBaseline squad investment £38.01m£38.0m
CalculationProfit on disposal of registrations£19.3m
= known transactions (subledger) + baseline assumption for windows that have not yet happened
CalculationKnown disposals (subledger: fee − NBV per player)£0.0m
= guaranteed fee − net book value at disposal, per player
AssumptionBaseline disposal profit £19.33m£19.3m
AssumptionFinance income £2.68m£2.7m
CalculationFinance costs£10.4m
= interest on debt instruments + other finance charges + interest on opening revolver draws (in-year draws accrue from the following period)
CalculationFinancing fy2029: interest £0.0m, closing debt £0.0m£0.0m
= per instrument: interest = avg(opening, closing) × rate; closing debt = Σ balances after drawdowns, repayments and schedule
AssumptionNet finance costs £10.45m£10.4m
AssumptionEffective tax rate 25%25%
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · Brentford FC · Wikipedia · Brentford FC · Brentford FC · Brentford FC
- - - - - -£9.2m-£10.5m-£6.9m£2.2m
Profit/(loss) for the year
Where this number comes from (2028/29F)
CalculationProfit/(loss) for the year£6.7m
= PBT − tax
CalculationProfit/(loss) before tax£8.9m
= operating profit + player disposal profit + finance income − finance costs
CalculationOperating profit/(loss) excluding player trading-£2.6m
= EBITDA − player amortisation; this filer does not disclose depreciation separately, so it already sits inside other operating costs and is not deducted twice
CalculationEBITDA£17.6m
= revenue − staff costs − other operating costs
CalculationTotal revenue£193.2m
= matchday + media + commercial
CalculationMatchday revenue 2028/29£12.4m
= (17250 seats × 99.3% utilisation) × (19 league + 1 domestic cup + 0 European home games) × £36.13 per attendee ÷ 1,000,000
FactStadium capacity 2028/29: 17250 seats (official, high)17,250 seats
AssumptionAttendance utilisation 99.3%99.3%
Assumption19 home league matches19 matches
Assumption1 home domestic cup ties1 matches
Assumption0 home European ties0 matches
AssumptionMatchday yield £36.13/attendee36.13 GBP
CalculationMedia / broadcasting revenue£161.5m
= domestic league central distribution + UEFA distributions + domestic cup prize money
CalculationPremier League central distribution£161.5m
= pl_total 2028/29 resolved directly: 161.5
CalculationUEFA distribution 2028/29: zero - club not in European competition£0.0m
= no European participation ⇒ no UEFA distribution
CalculationNot modelled for 2028/29: no evidenced domestic cup prize money
CalculationCommercial revenue fy2029: 0 contracted deals + other commercial base (4 active deal(s) with unreported value excluded)£19.4m
= Σ guaranteed annual values of 0 active deals (£0.0m) + other commercial base £19.4m
ContractJoma Sport S.A. (kit-manufacturer) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractIndeed (shirt-sponsor) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractGrey Technology Limited (Gtech) (stadium-naming) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
ContractIndeed (training-kit) - value not reliably reported, excluded from sum
AssumptionCommercial base beyond registered deals £19.36m£19.4m
CalculationTotal staff costs£130.8m
AssumptionStaff costs £130.78m£130.8m
AssumptionOther operating costs £44.91m£44.9m
CalculationPlayer registration amortisation£20.2m
= player-level subledger + unattributed cohort run-off (filed-NBV reconciliation) + baseline future squad investment
CalculationPlayer registration amortisation (subledger)£0.0m
= straight-line amortisation of each registration over its contract (day-count)
CalculationUnattributed registration cohort amortisation (fy2029)£0.0m
= per-year unexplained filed additions, 5.5y straight-line (mid-year convention), scaled ×3.047 to tie the anchor NBV to the filed balance exactly - an explicit reconciliation item for agent fees, capitalised add-ons and unmodelled smaller signings; aggregate only, never player-level
AssumptionResidual cohort method: 5.5-year assumed life; anchor gap £182.39m = filed £182.39m − subledger £0m
AssumptionBaseline future squad investment amortisation (£20.16m; cohorts totalling £152.04m over 6.6y)£20.2m
AssumptionBaseline squad investment £38.01m£38.0m
CalculationProfit on disposal of registrations£19.3m
= known transactions (subledger) + baseline assumption for windows that have not yet happened
CalculationKnown disposals (subledger: fee − NBV per player)£0.0m
= guaranteed fee − net book value at disposal, per player
AssumptionBaseline disposal profit £19.33m£19.3m
AssumptionFinance income £2.68m£2.7m
CalculationFinance costs£10.4m
= interest on debt instruments + other finance charges + interest on opening revolver draws (in-year draws accrue from the following period)
CalculationFinancing fy2029: interest £0.0m, closing debt £0.0m£0.0m
= per instrument: interest = avg(opening, closing) × rate; closing debt = Σ balances after drawdowns, repayments and schedule
AssumptionNet finance costs £10.45m£10.4m
CalculationTax charge/(credit)£2.2m
= PBT £8.95m × 25% charge rate; filed profit-year effective rates ran higher (46-67% on small profits) as deferred-tax assets unwound
CalculationProfit/(loss) before tax£8.9m
= operating profit + player disposal profit + finance income − finance costs
CalculationOperating profit/(loss) excluding player trading-£2.6m
= EBITDA − player amortisation; this filer does not disclose depreciation separately, so it already sits inside other operating costs and is not deducted twice
CalculationEBITDA£17.6m
= revenue − staff costs − other operating costs
CalculationTotal revenue£193.2m
= matchday + media + commercial
CalculationMatchday revenue 2028/29£12.4m
= (17250 seats × 99.3% utilisation) × (19 league + 1 domestic cup + 0 European home games) × £36.13 per attendee ÷ 1,000,000
CalculationMedia / broadcasting revenue£161.5m
= domestic league central distribution + UEFA distributions + domestic cup prize money
CalculationCommercial revenue fy2029: 0 contracted deals + other commercial base (4 active deal(s) with unreported value excluded)£19.4m
= Σ guaranteed annual values of 0 active deals (£0.0m) + other commercial base £19.4m
CalculationTotal staff costs£130.8m
AssumptionStaff costs £130.78m£130.8m
AssumptionOther operating costs £44.91m£44.9m
CalculationPlayer registration amortisation£20.2m
= player-level subledger + unattributed cohort run-off (filed-NBV reconciliation) + baseline future squad investment
CalculationPlayer registration amortisation (subledger)£0.0m
= straight-line amortisation of each registration over its contract (day-count)
CalculationUnattributed registration cohort amortisation (fy2029)£0.0m
= per-year unexplained filed additions, 5.5y straight-line (mid-year convention), scaled ×3.047 to tie the anchor NBV to the filed balance exactly - an explicit reconciliation item for agent fees, capitalised add-ons and unmodelled smaller signings; aggregate only, never player-level
AssumptionResidual cohort method: 5.5-year assumed life; anchor gap £182.39m = filed £182.39m − subledger £0m
AssumptionBaseline future squad investment amortisation (£20.16m; cohorts totalling £152.04m over 6.6y)£20.2m
AssumptionBaseline squad investment £38.01m£38.0m
CalculationProfit on disposal of registrations£19.3m
= known transactions (subledger) + baseline assumption for windows that have not yet happened
CalculationKnown disposals (subledger: fee − NBV per player)£0.0m
= guaranteed fee − net book value at disposal, per player
AssumptionBaseline disposal profit £19.33m£19.3m
AssumptionFinance income £2.68m£2.7m
CalculationFinance costs£10.4m
= interest on debt instruments + other finance charges + interest on opening revolver draws (in-year draws accrue from the following period)
CalculationFinancing fy2029: interest £0.0m, closing debt £0.0m£0.0m
= per instrument: interest = avg(opening, closing) × rate; closing debt = Σ balances after drawdowns, repayments and schedule
AssumptionNet finance costs £10.45m£10.4m
AssumptionEffective tax rate 25%25%
Sources: Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · Brentford FC · Wikipedia · Brentford FC · Brentford FC · Brentford FC
-£2.4m£25.7m£10.9m-£7.5m-£17.7m-£32.7m-£37.2m-£24.4m£6.7m
Reconciliation status
Audited periods reconcile against the filed accounts: 30 checks reconciled, none unreconciled. Estimates and forecasts are labelled and carry confidence levels - lines marked ◦ are PSRwatch analytical splits, not audited categories.
Source register (15)

Every fact, event and agreement in this model cites at least one of these records. Tier 1 = official (filings, club, league, UEFA); Tier 2 = reliable press; Tier 3 = specialist databases, always labelled and never treated as audited figures.

Brentford FC Ltd - annual report and financial statements, period ended 2022-06-30Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · tier1
Brentford FC Ltd - annual report and financial statements, period ended 2023-06-30Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · tier1
Brentford FC Ltd - annual report and financial statements, period ended 2024-06-30Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · tier1
Brentford FC Ltd - annual report and financial statements, period ended 2025-06-30Companies House (audited statutory accounts) · tier1
PSRwatch is independent. Figures are unofficial estimates from public filings, transfer data and PSRwatch modelling. They are not endorsed by the Premier League, EFL, UEFA or any club.